Forum

November 2nd, 2014
A A A
Avatar

Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

The forums are currently locked and only available for read only access
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
meaning of searchoptions.defaultValue
18/10/2013
12:32
Avatar
OlegK
Germany
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1255
Member Since:
10/08/2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hello Tony,

I tried to use defaultValue for columns having select element and I think that the current implementation (the meaning) of it is not the best. So I decide to post my doubts here.

The documentation (common searching options) says

If not empty set a default value in the search input element.

It says nothing about the meaning of it in case of usage stype: "select". On the other side the current implementation of defaultValue is the following:

  1. Searching Dialog ignores searchoptions.defaultValue. So it can't be used to preselect some select option as default per column which will be used in searching dialog.
  2. Searching toolbar fills the default values at the initialization time or on call of clearToolbar, but not apply the filter. In the case the user sees data which don't corresponds the filter displayed. In case of usage searchOnEnter: false option the filter can be applyed if the user types not quick enough. After applying of filter it's not easy to remove all filters especially if one have grid with many columns. If the user clears unneeded fields it will be refilled one more time after clicking "Reload Grid" button.

I used to have grids which many columns of select type. The current behavior of usage searchoptions.defaultValue seems me not the best one. The usage of the option in Serching Dialog is what it seems me interesting. The usage of it in the searching toolbar disturb me opposite.

What do you think about changing the behavior of usage searchoptions.defaultValue. For example the options useDefaultValue of filterToolbar (managed by $.jgrid.search too) and the same option of searching dialog could be a possible solution. One can use special string value "dialog", "toollbar" of useDefaultValue additionally to true and false to allows selective behavior inside of common $.jgrid.search.useDefaultValue.

What is your oppinion Tony about the subject?

Best regards
Oleg

22/10/2013
08:25
Avatar
tony
Sofia, Bulgaria
Moderator
Members

Moderators
Forum Posts: 7721
Member Since:
30/10/2007
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hello Oleg,

Everthing what you write here is true - really not best implementation of this

Not sure what to do. Let me think about this.

Regards

Tony

For professional UI suites for Java Script and PHP visit us at our commercial products site - guriddo.net - by the very same guys that created jqGrid.

Forum Timezone: Europe/Sofia

Most Users Ever Online: 496

Currently Online:
31 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

OlegK: 1255

markw65: 179

kobruleht: 144

phicarre: 132

YamilBracho: 124

Renso: 118

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 447

Members: 11373

Moderators: 2

Admins: 1

Forum Stats:

Groups: 1

Forums: 8

Topics: 10592

Posts: 31289

Newest Members:

, razia, Prankie, psky, praveen neelam, greg.valainis@pa-tech.com

Moderators: tony: 7721, Rumen[Trirand]: 81

Administrators: admin: 66

Comments are closed.
Privacy Policy   Terms and Conditions   Contact Information